Thomas Kenyon, M.D., M.P.H., Chief Executive Officer

CEO Project HOPE Tom Kenyon, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Thomas Kenyon joined Project HOPE on September 14, 2015. Prior to returning to Project HOPE, Dr. Kenyon served 21 years with the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), most recently as Director of the Center for Global Health, where he was responsible for overseeing four major global health Divisions: Global HIV/AIDS, Global Immunizations, Parasitic Diseases and Malaria, and Global Health Protection.

Most of Dr. Kenyon's global health career has been spent in the field at the country level working with counterparts in Ministries of Health to build local capacity to confront a range of public health issues: HIV/AIDS, TB, disease outbreaks, maternal and child mortality, operational research, and strengthening of public health systems. Dr. Kenyon served as the CDC Country Director in Ethiopia, Namibia, and Botswana for over 15 years. He has always been a strong supporter of building the capacity of the local health workforce and local African organizations. In the early phase of the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), Dr. Kenyon was detailed from CDC to the U.S. Department of State, Office of the Global AIDS Coordinator, to serve as the Principal Deputy Global AIDS Coordinator and Chief Medical Officer.

Earlier in his career, Dr. Kenyon served as Project HOPE’s Country Director for Swaziland from 1987 to 1992. In this role he helped to establish some of the first local HIV/AIDS programs as the epidemic was emerging in Swaziland. He also supported programs in nursing education, pharmaceutical management, community education, and practiced as a pediatrician at the Raleigh Fitkin Memorial Hospital in the city of Manzini. Prior to that, Dr. Kenyon was the pediatrician for Project HOPE at St. George’s Hospital in Grenada, West Indies from 1985 to 1987. In this role, he trained nurse practitioners in referral protocols for sick children. He also served as Director of Communicable Diseases for the Chicago Department of Health and in private pediatric practice in Tucson, Arizona.

Dr. Kenyon’s undergraduate degree in Zoology is from Indiana University, his MD is from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine, and his Master’s in Public Health is from the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. He completed training in pediatrics at the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center in Tucson, and completed training as a field epidemiologist in the Epidemic Intelligence Service, Division of TB Elimination, at the CDC in Atlanta.

Board of Directors


Richard T. Clark ~ Chairman
Retired Chairman
Merck & Co., Inc.

Reynold W. Mooney ~ Vice Chairman
Retired Principal
Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, LTD.

Viren Mehta ~ Secretary
Founder and Managing Member
Mehta Partners, LLC
Co-Founder & Chairman
Gather Health

Curt M. Selquist ~ Treasurer
Operating Partner
Water Street Healthcare Partners


Robert M. Davis
Executive Vice President
Chief Financial Officer & Global Services

Deborah DiSanzo
General Manager
IBM Watson Health

Renuka Gadde
Vice President, Global Health

Keith T. Ghezzi, M.D.
Managing Director
Alvarez & Marsal Healthcare Industry Group

Bernard A. Harris, Jr., M.D.
President & CEO
Vesalius Ventures, Inc.

Thomas Kenyon, M.D., M.P.H.
Project HOPE

George Lindemann
Owner and CEO
Etam Group of Companies

Gerhard N. Mayr
Chairman, UCB
Retired Executive Vice President, Pharmaceutical Operations
Eli Lilly & Company

J. Michael McQuade, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President
Science & Technology
United Technology Corporation

Donna Murphy
Global CEO
Havas Health & You

Steven B. Pfeiffer
Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Daniel D. Phelan
Former Chief Executive Officer
Prommis Solutions Holding Corp.

Stephen H. Rusckowski
Chairman, President and CEO 
Quest Diagnostics

Charles A. Sanders, M.D. ~ Chairman Emeritus
Retired Chairman & CEO

Ambassador Miriam E. Sapiro
Managing Director
Sard Verbinnen & Co.

Anne M. Simonds
Lead, Global Health, Development and Social Enterprise Platform
Spencer Stuart Washington, D.C.

Marshall Smith
Co-Head, Consumer Retail Healthcare Group
Goldman Sachs & Company

Peter Wilden, Ph.D.
Ferring International Center SA

Emeritus Members

William F. Brandt, Jr.
John W. Galiardo
Jack M. Gill, Ph.D.
Maurice R. Greenberg
William L. Henry
Ben L. Holmes
Robert A. Ingram
Edward J. Ludwig
Walter G. Montgomery
Dayton Ogden
James E. Preston
Jerry E. Robertson, Ph.D.

Stay Informed

Get news from the field and updates on how your donations are being put to work.

Please leave this field empty

Join Us

Read and share stories about Project HOPE with your personal network.

255 Carter Hall Lane, PO Box 250, Millwood, VA 22646
Donor Services: +1.844.349.0188
© Project HOPE. All Rights Reserved. 501(c)(3)

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software