Project HOPE awarded 43 volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award for 2012, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service. 

Established in 2003, the Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.  As one of thousands of Certifying Organizations participating in the Award program, Project HOPE confers the award to recognize the outstanding achievements of its medical volunteers, who have travelled thousands of miles by air, land and sea to bring health care and education to underserved communities worldwide.


Russell Bowman             Sitka, Alaska

Cherri Dobson                 Brentwood, California

Kelly Scatton                  Lake Forest, California

Barbara Demman            Los Angeles, California

Taylor Vaughn                Pasadena, California

Lynn Bemiller                 San Diego, California

Julie Porucznik               San Diego, California

Sharon Weintraub          Avon, Connecticut

Tara Smith                      Old Greenwich, Connecticut

Frances Bauer                 Apalachicola, Florida

Christina Grass                Big Pine Key, Florida

Jennifer Carr                   Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Keith Williams                 Hudson, Florida

Danielle Carson               Key Largo, Florida

Sally Morris                     Decatur, Georgia

Samuel Hunt                   Mason City, Iowa

Annie Borden                  Kittery, Maine

Robert Baxt                     Baltimore, Maryland

Divvy Upadhyay              Bethesda, Maryland

Sama Shrestha                Germantown, Maryland

Jennifer Mbutha               Silver Spring, Maryland

John Triedman                 Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

James Robbins                 Greenwood, Massachusetts

Zara Risoldi                      Omaha, Nebraska

Karen Rudderow              Collingswood, New Jersey

Kristopher Radder            Horseheads, New York

Jan Kline                           Port Washington, New York

Andrew Gunter                 Charlotte, North Carolina

Carma Erickson-Hurt         North Bend, Oregon

Connie Lieu                        Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

James Honl                        Anderson, South Carolina

Michelle Drew                    Abilene, Texas

Travis Riggs                       Bentonville, Virginia

Catherine Blaire- Perrine    Chester, Virginia

Francis Escheik                   Millwood, Virginia

Leon Fay                              Millwood, Virginia

Faye Pyles                           Norfolk, Virginia

Erin Olsen                            Richmond, Virginia

Alexis Hargbol                    Winchester, Virginia

Alison Brandt                      Winchester, Virginia      

Judith Knickerbocker          Winchester, Virginia

Kofi Kyei-Mensah                Winchester, Virginia

Ravipal Singh                      Renton, Washington



Stay Informed

Get news from the field and updates on how your donations are being put to work.

Please leave this field empty

Join Us

Read and share stories about Project HOPE with your personal network.

255 Carter Hall Lane, PO Box 250, Millwood, VA 22646
Donor Services: +1.844.349.0188
© Project HOPE. All Rights Reserved. 501(c)(3)

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software